What are the protected characteristics in the Equality Act 2010?

What are the 9 protected characteristics?

The 9 protected characteristics

  • Age.
  • Gender.
  • Race.
  • Disability.
  • Religion or belief.
  • Sexual orientation.
  • Gender reassignment.
  • Marriage or civil partnerships.

What protected characteristics mean?

In the Equality Act 2010, nine characteristics were identified as ‘protected characteristics’. These are the characteristics where evidence shows there is still significant discrimination in employment, provision of goods and services and access to services such as education and health.

What characteristics are covered by the Equality Act?

The nine protected characteristics are as follows:

  • Age. This protected characteristic is where someone faces discrimination due to their age. …
  • Disability. …
  • Gender reassignment. …
  • Marriage and civil partnership. …
  • Pregnancy and maternity. …
  • Race. …
  • Religion or belief. …
  • Sex.

What are the 7 types of prohibited conduct?

Other prohibited conduct

  • age;
  • disability;
  • gender reassignment;
  • race;
  • religion or belief;
  • sex;
  • sexual orientation.

What protected characteristics require reasonable accommodations?

An individual meets the Americans with Disabilities with Act definition act of “disability” that would qualify them for reasonable accommodations if they have “a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities (sometimes referred to in the regulations as an “actual disability”) …

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: Where do Coast Guard get stationed?

Are you protected under the Equality Act 2010?

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation.

What are the protected characteristics of discrimination?

In the context of housing discrimination, section 3604 of the Fair Housing Act enumerates seven protected characteristics: race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability. As such, it is illegal to refuse to rent or sell property to a person based on one of those characteristics.

Why are protected characteristics important?

This means that they can also identify a few of the protected characteristics under the Equality Act. By increasing awareness in the workplace, employers can reduce the likelihood of discrimination and avoidable conflict. Identifying problematic behaviour early can hold the key to avoiding employment tribunal claims.

What are the 6 types of discrimination?

Types of Discrimination

  • Age Discrimination.
  • Disability Discrimination.
  • Sexual Orientation.
  • Status as a Parent.
  • Religious Discrimination.
  • National Origin.
  • Pregnancy.
  • Sexual Harassment.

What are the four main types of prohibited conduct?

There are four “main” types of prohibited conduct which include: Direct Discrimination, Indirect Discrimination, Harassment and Victimisation.

What is banned by the Equality Act 2010?

The Equality Act 2010 includes provisions that ban age discrimination against adults in the provision of services and public functions. The ban came into force on 1 October 2012 and it is now unlawful to discriminate on the basis of age unless: the practice is covered by an exception from the ban.