What are the protected classes in NYS?

What are the 17 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

How many New York State protected classes are there?

Creed/religion. Disability. Family status. Gender / Gender identity/expression.

What are the 5 original protected classes?

The seventh amendment of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII, outlines five major protected classes: race, color, religion, sex and national origin.

What are the seven legally protected classes?

Applicants, employees and former employees are protected from employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, sexual orientation, or gender identity), national origin, age (40 or older), disability and genetic information (including family medical history).

What are the twenty protected classes?

Age, sex, race, creed, color, marital status, national origin, physical or mental disability, sexual orientation, pregnancy, and medical conditions, retaliation.

IMPORTANT:  Can I paint over stone guard?

Who are not protected classes?

For example, groups that are not considered protected classes include:

  • Education Level;
  • Economic Class;
  • Social Membership;
  • Illegal or Undocumented Aliens;
  • People with Criminal Records.

Is age a protected class in NY?

New York City law prohibits employers with four or more employees from making hiring, firing or any other employment decisions based on age, even if you are under 40 years old. As of January 11, 2020, the protections against age discrimination in New York City apply to independent contractors.

Is religion a protected class in New York?

The federal Fair Housing Act of 1968 protects individuals against housing discrimination on the basis on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability.

Which of the following represents the protected classes in housing for a citizen of New York City in addition to those covered under federal fair housing?

Federally protected classes are race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, disability.

Is disability a protected class?

What are the protected classes? Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.

What are the 12 protected characteristics?

Protected characteristics

These are age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex, and sexual orientation.

Is age a protected class?

Under the law, the protected class for age is people aged 40 and older. The federal law that governs age discrimination is the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, or ADEA. This law encourages employers to hire workers based on abilities and skill, rather than age, and prohibits age discrimination in the workplace.

IMPORTANT:  What does AT&T Security do?

Which of the following classes are not protected by federal law?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws. 4.

What are California’s protected classes?

California law protects individuals from illegal discrimination by employers based on the following: Race, color. Ancestry, national origin. Religion, creed.

Is socioeconomic status a protected class?

So why aren’t there more legal protections for poor Americans? As it stands, socioeconomic status is not a protected class under anti-discrimination laws.